Ambassadors

A Brief History of the Ambassadors

Always interested in communication, Brother Fred Bryant, Personal Representative wished to have more contact with the brethren in the local and outlining lodges to create more interest and encourage the brethren to enjoy their Scottish Rite membership either locally or in their respective Club. Brother Bryant asked Brother Ed Colston to head up a new group, called Ambassadors who would work to such an end. Brother Colston appointed the new Ambassadors, mostly leaders in their masonic area, which proved to be very successful. Attendance arose and more petitions were received.

Unfortunately, Brother Colston became ill and departed this life and for years the Ambassador program waned. Brother Bryant realizing the need to reinstitute the Ambassador Program asked Brother Bill Lorenz who was serving as Membership Chairman to select and head a new group of Ambassadors. Brothers Lorenz, Bryant and Keith Dreier sat down with a list of Scottish Rite members and selected the various District Ambassadors, and County/Lodge Ambassadors, all proven top notch leaders, and in 2010 the new Ambassadors Program began.

The Ambassadors were to aid those Scottish Rite brethren who had questions from the office and assist the office who needed information from a member; participate in the Scottish Rite Traveling Gavel; and to announce Lodge functions at the Scottish Rite, and Scottish Rite functions to their respective Lodges, improving attendance at both; and under the direction of the District Ambassador. The coveted black coat is presented to the Ambassador of the Year and an engraved pocket watch is presented to the District Ambassador of the Year.

This program proved so successful that it was adopted by the Sovereign Grand Inspector General to be used for all Kentucky.

AMBASSADORS

Bill Lorenz - Chairman
Marty Lewis = Chief Ambassador
ab.lorenz@live.com
marty_lewis@yahoo.com

Ambassadors - District 17

Gary Bickers – District Ambassador – gsbickers@bellsouth.net 

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email
Don Sprague
Tadmor 108
859.640.4894
Jim Sapp
Carrollton 134
502.732.4238
Tom Compton
Glencoe 498
859.391.3058
Mark Kyle
Owen County
mark.kyle@pmc-group.com
Bill Long
Carroll County
metegr@aol.com
Monty Roberts
Gallatin County
montyroberts41@yahoo.com

Ambassadors - District 18

Ray Murphy – Co-District Ambassador – 859.431.5250 – murphy2451@gmail.com
Dan Kemble – Co-District Ambassador – 859.801.3095 – dkemble@fbtlaw.com 

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email
Fred "Butch" Jernigan, Sr.
Grant 85
tjern@aol.com
Eric Creech, Jr.
Good Faith 95
littleejr803@aol.com
John Dettor
Golden Rule-Covington 109
dettorj1@mymail.nku.ed
Lewis Truitt
Colonel Clay 159
ltruitt@twc.com
Henry S. "Buddy" Wallace Jr.
Burlington 264
859.586.6985
Michael Jones
Boone-Union 304
jonesland1964@icloud.com
David Carnes
Wilmington 362
paulaanddave@twc.com
Louis Fields
Crittendon-Dry Ridge 694
859.322.5869
George V. Scott
Phoenix 719
859.359.4094
Vernon Gregory
Latonia 746
verndgregory@gmail.com
Al Tucker
Hebron 757
aetucker@fuse.net
Ernie Stratton
Elvin E. Helms 926
estratton@zoomtown.com

Ambassadors - District 19

Burlis Dean – Co-District Ambassador – 859.635.3001
Jeff Moermond – C0-District Ambassador – vicki@budsjmservice.com  

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email
Everett Harrison
Alexandria 152
859.635.9402
David Cassesa
Robert Burns 163
dcassesa@yahoo.com
Allen Spangler
Mayo 198
ajaxs3@aol.com
Nelson Charette
DeMoss 220
snelson@ison.net
Tom Nitschke
Orion 222
nitschke1020@yahoo.com
James Rose
Henry Barnes 607
jprose1954@yahoo.com
Ryan Engle
Ft. Thomas 808
kykats@fuse.net

Ambassadors - District 21

Johnny Yates – District Ambassador – 859.749.1782 – johnny.yates32mm@yahoo.com 

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email
Randy Roberts
Lancaster 104
randy_penny@hotmail.com
Denver Rose
Waynesburg 328
606.305.6339
Justin Terwilliger
Casey 424
justin42528@hotmail.com
Chad Gehring
McKinley 631
chadgehring@hotmail.com

Ambassadors - District 22

James Roy – District Ambassador – jimroy@duo-county.com 

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email

Ambassadors - District 23

Bufford Litteral – District Ambassador – 606.743.7504 – buffkin@hotmail.com 

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email
Keith M. Lewis
St.Mary's 240 - Lewis County
elm_61@yahoo.com
Larry Lykins
Highlands 311 - Morgan County
camp5786@yahoo.com
Fred Bate
Morehead 654 - Rowan County
dfbate@gmail.com
Don Lewis
Fleming County
dmlewi01@moreheadstate.edu

Ambassadors - District 27

Charlie Thompson – District Ambassador – 606.265.4585 – ct001@foothills.net 

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email
Brad Brammell
Trimble 145
bradbrammell@gmail.com
Joe Hart
Apperson 195
jhart@foothills.net
Phil Lewis
Hampton 235
lewis.philm@gmail.com
Fred Fields
Green Hill 521
dafafiekds@windstream.net
Keith Mason
Hepburn 576
kj4gaf@yahoo.com
Pete Henderson
Jake Rice 606
peteh@foothills.net
Gary James
Olive Hill 629
606.286.2692
Roy Brown
Rush 715
606.923.6452
Matt Shelton
Fred M. Gross 953
mattshelton953@gmail.com
Wayne Adkins
Carter County
wayneandjoyadkins@windstream.net
Leroy Johnson
Lawrence County
606.367.1472

Ambassadors - District 28

Fred “Mano” Runyon – District Ambassador – 606.353.4121 – runyonf@yahoo.com 

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email
Jeffery Ward
Thomas C. Cecil 375
jeffuward1974@yahoo.com
Otto Hyden
Paintsville 381
otto_hyden@whayne.com
Clarence Ratliff Jr.
Flat Gap 616
btr23@bellsouth.net
Jerry Simpson
East Point 657
underscoreky@yahoo.com
Dustin Allen
Salyersville 769
dustinallen769@gmail.com
Jeffery Daniels
Chandlersville 858
jeffdaniels17972@yahoo.com
Rob Channell
Stone 890
robch@suddenlink.net
Mitchell May
Thomas Devanney 928
mmay01@updike.edu
Robin C. Grandon
John W. Hall 950
rochound28@yahoo.com
James Reynolds
Floyd County
jwreynolds@yahoo.com
James Ward
Johnson County
jandrward@yahoo.com
Herman Fletcher
Martin County
606.395.0455
Lonnie Osborne
Thomas C. Cecil 375
lonnieosborne@setel.com

Ambassadors - District 29

Bob Pigman – District Ambassador – rhpigman@tvscable.com 

Name
Lodge or County
Phone or Email
Bobby Shepherd
Knott County
bobbysheperd@gmail.com
Gerald Dwight Thomas
Letcher County
dwightthomas1@live.com
James Ed Williams
Krypton 905 - Perry, Lee Counties
jim.ed1937@yahoo.com

District Ambassadors of the Year

Year
Name
2011
Charlie Thompson
2012
Fred "Mano " Runyon
2013
Burlis Dean
2014
Ray Murphy
2015
Gary Bickers
2016
Johnny Yates

Ambassadors of the Year

Year
Name
2011
Wayne Adkins
2012
James Ward
2013
Lonnie Osborne
2014
Justin Terwilliger
2015
Marty Lewis
2016
Everett Harrison